[Review] Hidden Deception by Colleen Helme

About the book

Hidden Deception
(Shelby Nichols #9)
by Colleen Helme

ebook, 303 pages
Publication Date: August 12th 2016
ASIN: B01IMIJLNI

Just back from Paris, Shelby barely has time to get over her jet lag before she is right back in the thick of things. Uncle Joey, the local mob boss, needs her help to find out what his son is hiding from him. Detective Harris, AKA Dimples, has an unsolved homicide on his hands, along with a missing engagement ring. Shelby’s husband, Chris, just got promoted to partner in his law firm, and she has yet to see his new office or meet his new secretary. Add to that the opportunity to purchase a beautiful home, and Shelby is racing from one thing to the next while trying to keep them all straight.

When a courier in Uncle Joey’s organization turns up dead, it’s up to Shelby and her mind-reading powers to find out who killed him and why. The house Shelby wants to buy has a few problems that go beyond the building code, and the murder she’s helping Dimples solve has ties to Chris’ law firm. Even using all of her skills, Shelby finds one hidden deception after another. And if she’s not careful, it might be the one she least expects that will kill her.

review~ Book generously provided by the author in exchange for my honest opinion

Can you believe this is the ninth Shelby Nichols book?! Nine books and I still love this series as much as I did when I first read Carrots five years ago.

I’m currently on summer break and I intended to read all my other review copies, but when Colleen offered me the chance of reading Hidden Deception I put everything else aside, grabbed some popcorn and enjoyed the show. By the way, thank you, Colleen!

It always amazes me how Shelby can, even though she can read minds, get in such a mess all the time and still be alive. A fun mess I have to clarify. Even after eight books, reading Shelby’s new adventure is for sure anything but boring. I laughed so much, sometimes I found myself shaking my kindle thinking “why, why, why, Shelby”. Shelby is such a magnet for trouble. Complicated situations are her forte. I don’t know how she juggles them all, but it’s fun to see her try.

Then there is her family. I love Shelby’s relationship with her husband. In fact I think this is the only series I’m reading where the main character started off in a commited relationship. I’m normally more of a “find and get together”-romance book type of reader, but with Shelby and Chris… let’s say, I’m jealous and I want such a good marriage myself someday in the future.

Shelby’s relationship with the mafia will – of course! – be mentioned in this review as well. Since book one I’ve been a fan of Ramos, hitman of the mafia, and I think that will never change, maybe should he somehow double-cross them all, but I doubt that will ever happen. In regards of Shelby’s relationship with Ramos… I love that Colleen never went down the road of Shelby with Ramos, meaning cheating on Chris, because those two definitely would have the potential for that. Big plus for staying away for that “twist” since I hate cheating in books.

Uncle Joey, head of the mafia and not really Shelby’s uncle, but she calls him that way, had to deal with a lot of problems in Hidden Deception and I liked that he appeared in a lot of scenes. Also he had to deal with some personal problems and I can’t wait to see how that works out in the future books. What those personal problems are, I can’t say without spoiling the previous books for you 😉

All these cases Shelby works on this time are interesting and I love how some of them are somehow connected or just helping Shelby to solve a different one. I enjoyed reading how she works together with Dimples, err…. Harris? Was that his real name? Shelby infected me with her way of only thinking of the Detective as Dimples.

I’m always wondering how Colleen can come up with these crazy ideas and how she keeps them all straight in her head. I know I would have lost my thread a long time ago. Kudos to you, Colleen!

Then can we talk about the cover of Hidden Deception? In fact, let’s talk about all the covers of the Shelby Nichols series. Aren’t they gorgeous? Did you know my favourite colour is orange? I especially loved the one of Hidden Deception, because orange ;). What I also love about the covers is the fact that they are always designed in relation to the stuff that happens in the book itself. I love that. Not many covers are that way. Never change them, do you hear me, Colleen? 🙂

Like always it was a joy to read another Shelby Nichols book and I can’t wait to see what chaos awaits Shelby in the next book. The downside of finishing Hidden Deception so earlier… I have to wait at least a year or so till the next one comes out. The tenth (!!!) one. We are moving to the double-digits. Exciting!!

Rating: 4,25 stars

About the authorAs the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventure Series, Colleen is often asked if Shelby Nichols is her alter-ego. “Definitely,” she says. “Shelby is the epitome of everything I wish I dared to be.” Known for her laugh since she was a kid, Colleen has always tried to find the humor in every situation and continues to enjoy writing about Shelby’s adventures. “I love getting Shelby into trouble…I just don’t always know how to get her out of it!” Colleen lives in the Rocky Mountains with her family. Besides writing, she loves a good book, biking, hiking, and playing board and card games with family and friends. She loves to connect with readers and admits that fans of the series keep her writing.

Leave a comment <3

