[Tour] Static by S.K. Anthony

Static

by S.K. Anthony

Book Two of The Luminaries series

Genre: NA Urban Fantasy

Release Date: September 20th 2015

Synopsis:

Kevin Pierce is a teleporter, a ladies’ man, and a loyal friend. Or so he thought.

As a genetically altered Luminary, he helps the government bring down some of the most dangerous criminals. Not very challenging if you have his special abilities. But when a group of rebel Luminaries attacks his Organization the fight for survival begins.

One shattering event after another tests the depth of his relationships, his sanity, and his powers. Emotionally torn, Kevin must choose carefully where his loyalty lies. In the middle of all the unexpected chaos he gets the biggest shock of his life when he’s faced by a betrayal he never saw coming. Angry, injured, and ready to even the score, Kevin goes Static . . .

Excerpt:

I followed her movements, which then forced me to take a good look at her.
She had come in with a gray hoodie, the one she’d stolen from me the first time
she beat the crap out of me in a fight. In my defense, I wasn’t able to really hit
her because she was a girl. I learned soon after that how wrong I was; she was
tougher than most guys I knew. She boggled my mind for so many reasons.
Right now, though, she wore it over a black short skirt, tights, and boots with
three-inch heels. A belt with a big, diamond square buckle hugged her waist.
How she made it look stylish, I had no clue.
“Does that really go together?”
I asked, pointing at her outfit.
“Not really, but it’s cold.”
She smiled, and proceeded to open the belt and take off the hoodie. Underneath it, I found out what an hourglass figure truly looked like. She wasn’t too skinny; she had meat on her, but it was in pretty good proportions. Her black, very tight, long-sleeved top was immediately adorned with the belt she’d taken off, accenting her tiny waist. And her hair?
Well, she even had it loose. It was long and silky. I’d always thought of her as my sister, but this chick didn’t look like she should be anyone’s sister. She sat down next to me.
“What’d you do to your hair? And are you wearing makeup?”
Her brows creased.
“Don’t make fun of me.”
“Well, it looks funny. You —”
I stopped at the look of murder that crept in her eyes.
“It looks nice, it’s just different. I didn’t think you liked being girly.”
“I’m a girl. How can I not be girly?”
“You know what I mean; you are more of a tomboy.”
“That was because I was still trying to learn how to be out in the field and use my powers. Now that I know how, I think it’s perfectly fine to dress up if I want to.”
“Right. Come on, you only dress up for missions if you have to. Like at the club,” I said, laughing. “Even in training you were always more boyish.”
“I was not.”
She frowned.
“Yes, you were. How did you even learn to put on make up? You probably practiced all weekend —”
I saw her fist coming at my face and teleported right on time. Unfortunately, Ryan fell over. I went to pick her up but she stopped
me. Shit. I’d pissed her off real bad. If I was not mistaken, her blue eyes were a bit teary.
“You are an ass.”
“Dude, I’m sorry. I was just kidding. I’m not used to seeing you as a girl,”
I said, and dashed to the door. Man, that was perfect timing on Chris’s part to
ring the bell.
“Well, get used to it. And stop making fun of me or I’ll give your face some scars to match your brother’s.”
“That’s harsh. Jeez,” I said, rubbing my face.
Chris walked in at the same time, and said, “Hey, you look pretty, Ry.”
“Don’t be a prick,” she said and got up. “We have to go.”
“I’m not,” he said frowning. “What’s up with her?” he asked me in a whisper as we followed her.
“It’s not you. I made fun of her before, so now she is all defensive, like it’s our fault she suddenly decided to be a girl.”
“She looks nice as a girl,” Chris said, checking her out walking down the hallway.
I shrugged.
“I guess. But she’s the one who always made fun of them and now she’s all dressed up. Look at her skirt, too tight for her own good — what are you doing? Stop staring at her. She’s going to melt your eyes if you don’t stop.”
“I’ll make her forget,” he said with a grin. “You and your hypnosis. Do you ever confront anything head on, or do you always modify your way out?”
“Modify my way out. Why deal with crap if I don’t have to?” He shrugged.
“Good thing you’d never do that to me,” I said to Chris. “Wait, what was
that look? Dude, that would be very un-bro-like!”
“It would be.”
Chris smiled, and hurried out behind Ryan.

~~~~~

About The Author

S. K. Anthony is a writer, a reader and a make-stuff-up-er who lives in New York with her husband and toddler twins. She is a wine connoisseur, which just really means she knows she loves it, and a caffeine addict. When she isn’t busy with her family she finds herself being transported into the world of imagination. Well, either that or running away from spiders…she is convinced they are out to get her!

~~~~~

Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a comment <3

