[Review] The Bachelor Auction by Rachel Van Dyken

About the book

The Bachelor Auction
(The Bachelors of Arizona #1)
by Rachel Van Dyken

ebook
Publication Date: October 4th 2016 by Forever
ISBN: 1633753174

Cinderella never had to deal with this crap.

Jane isn’t entirely sure that Cinderella got such a raw deal. Sure, she had a rough start, but didn’t she eventually land a prince and a happily-ever-after? Meanwhile, Jane is busy waiting on her demanding, entitled sisters, running her cleaning business, and . . . yep, not a prince in sight. Until a party and a broken shoe incident leave Jane wondering if princes—or at least, a certain deliciously hunky billionaire—maybe do exist.

Except Brock Wellington isn’t anyone’s dream guy. Hell, a prince would never agree to be auctioned off in marriage to the highest bidder. Or act like an arrogant jerk—even if it was just a façade. Now, as Brock is waiting for the auction chopping block, he figures it’s karmic retribution that he’s tempted by a sexy, sassy woman he can’t have. But while they can’t have a fairy-tale ending, maybe they can indulge in a little bit of fantasy . .

review~ Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion

The Bachelor Auction won’t be – as much as it hurts to say – one of my favourite books by RVD. I just didn’t adore it. I loved the idea of the book, but the both main characters were exactly what their nicknames said: Boring Brock and Plain Jane for most of the book. The twins, Brock’s brothers, were a lot more interesting and are the biggest reason why I will continue this series (beside being a loyal RVD reader), I need to know how their stories will end up.

Don’t get me wrong, the both main character had their bright moments, but compared to other RVD characters, they weren’t remarkable. In fact, they made me a bit angry, especially Jane. I didn’t understand how she could tolerate being treated like shit by her sisters. In today’s age all she had to do was say “enough” and walk away, but no, she had to keep the family together because of one little promise she made her dad. Jane! Where is your reality check, your sisters treat you like their own little servant.

Also I expected this to be lot more funnier, like the Consequence series, but the hilarious scenes were spare and rare – a few more in the end.

I’m sure other people and blogger will love this book to death, but I just wasn’t impressed and as much as it hurts me to give RVD not a 4,5 or higher rating, in my opinion The Bachelor Auction was just average with average characters.

I will continue this series though, because of the twins and that ending. So many good possibilities.

Rating: 3,5 stars

P.S.: Tbh though, 3,5 stars is not that bad of a rating, I still enjoyed the book and I’ve read so many books by Rachel Van Dyken that there had to come the moment when I wouldn’t like one as much as the others. Maybe my expectations are just too high when it comes to her books, because they all rock. I’m sure the second Bachelor book will be more to my liking.

Leave a comment <3

