[Review] At Attention by Annabeth Albert

About the book

At Attention
(Out Of Uniform #2)
by Annabeth Albert

ebook
Publication Date: April 10th 2017 by Carina Press

Lieutenant Apollo Floros can ace tactical training missions, but being a single dad to his twin daughters is more than he can handle. He needs live-in help, and he’s lucky a friend’s younger brother needs a place to stay. He’s surprised to see Dylan all grown up with a college degree…and a college athlete’s body. Apollo’s widowed heart may still be broken, but Dylan has his blood heating up.

It’s been eight years since the teenage Dylan followed Apollo around like a lovesick puppy, and it’s time he showed Lieutenant Hard-to-Please that he’s all man now—an adult who’s fully capable of choosing responsibility over lust. He can handle Apollo’s muscular sex appeal, but Apollo the caring father? Dylan can’t afford to fall for that guy. He’s determined to hold out for someone who’s able to love him back, not someone who only sees him as a kid brother.

Apollo is shocked by the intensity of his attraction to Dylan. Maybe some no-strings summer fun will bring this former SEAL back to life. But the combination of scorching desire and warm affection is more than he’d expected, and the emotion between them scares him senseless. No fling lasts forever, and Apollo will need to decide what’s more important—his past or his future—if he wants to keep Dylan in his life.

review~ Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion

Truth be told after reading the synopsis I was a bit afraid – for two reasons. First because I couldn’t quite remember who Apollo was and if he even was in the previous book. I’m bad at remembering names, let me tell you that. Reason number two was that a few days ago I’ve read a book about a married guy with children, who was secretly gay, but never came out to his wife and then she died. So, because I couldn’t remember who Apollo was, I thought it would be the other book all over again. Note: I didn’t like that other book. But of course, I didn’t need to worry, everything was totally different. I really need to work at remembering names. I remembered there was a guy in the military who was gay with children, but I didn’t know anymore that that man was Apollo.

So if you made it through my little “I am stupid” paragraph, let me tell you that I love this book. I rarely give a book a full 5 star rating, but I just can’t do anything different with At Attention. I loved the character, loved the story and loved the writing.

I loved Dylan, Apollo’s love interest. He was adorable. ADORABLE. He didn’t push Apollo into starting something new after his husband’s death, but let him decide the pace. Also he was really good with the children. He was fun and at the same time everyone thought of him as a child, even though he’s long grown up.

Then there was Apollo. There were some scenes where I wanted to bash his head in, because he kept hurting my poor Dylan without knowing it, but I still also loved him.

At Attention didn’t have too much talk about the military part of Apollo’s job. There were a few scenes that dealed with that topic, but overall it only took a minor role in the book.

I can’t wait to read the next book in the series, which could be about Ben and Maddox, but I’m not quite sure it actually is. I guess I have to wait and see.

Also I told myself to wait before I start reading At Attention. I didn’t want to start till March. Joke’s on me. I already finished it and it isn’t even February yet. LOL.

Rating: 5 stars

Leave a comment <3

