[Review] Mistletoe Games by Jaci Burton

About the book

Mistletoe Games
(Play by Play #6.5, 8.5, 10.5)
by Jaci Burton

ebook
Publication Date: October 18th 2016 by Berkley
ISBN: 045148813X

No one brings the sexy out in sports like Jaci Burton, the author of the New York Times bestselling Play-by-Play novels. Now, she puts together a holiday hat trick with three novellas featuring the hottest sports around: baseball, hockey, and surfing—because hard bodies are always in season…

Holiday Games
For the high-achieving Elizabeth and her husband, baseball player Gavin Riley, failure is not an option. So when it comes to making a baby, they’re not about to let any holiday distractions get in the way of their necessary pleasures…

Holiday on Ice
It’s the season for giving and superstar hockey player Patrick “Trick” Niemeyer is ready to give dancer Stella Slovinski his heart wrapped up in bow. But he’ll have to melt the ice surrounding her heart to keep her from walking away…

Hot Holiday Nights
Christmas in Hawaii brings sports agent Tori Baldwin two presents: a young surfer at the top of his game and his business manager. But this hot threesome has to decide if the romantic wave they’ve caught is nothing more than a vacation fling, or the kind of love that could change their lives forever…

review~ Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion

Note: I haven’t read any books in the Play by Play series yet, but I’m pretty sure all these short stories can be read as stand alones.

Holiday Games:
What could I possible say to Holiday Games, except for it’s basically one giant-ass sex scene, with some bits of  story here and there – and those weren’t even interesting. If I had read the previous books in this series, I might have appreciated this story more, but as it is, I was not impressed by it.

After reading Holiday Games I just couldn’t immediately continue reading the other two short stories of this book, so I put it aside for a while.

To be quite honest, I picked it up again a few hours ago and I just can’t. I can’t finish it. The writing style didn’t keep me hooked and I’m not sure if I want to read the rest of the book, just to get disappointed by those stories as well. So I decided after a long internal battle – I hate quitting ARCs – to stop the struggle I have with this book and just call it a day. I won’t continue reading it.

Should you pick it up, I hope you enjoy it. I guess Jaci Burton and me, we don’t mix well. Maybe I should have read a book in Play By Play series first to fully be hooked to this series, but I highly doubt it.

Rating: DNF

 

Leave a comment <3

