Interview with Sarah Glenn Marsh, author of Fear The Drowning Deep

1. Tell us something about your book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to?

Fear the Drowning Deep_coverFEAR THE DROWNING DEEP is my debut novel! It’s a historical fantasy for young adults.

FEAR tells the story of sixteen-year-old Bridey Corkill, who’s living on the Isle of Man in 1913. She’s hated the ocean ever since she was a little girl, when she saw her grandfather leap from the cliffs and drown with a smile on his face. As the story begins, Bridey sees a body washed up on the shores of Port Coire, her small town, and it isn’t long before her friends and neighbors start disappearing one by one. It’s up to Bridey to convince everyone of the danger in the water before she loses the people she loves most…

And here are a few things this story contains that I love: a handsome boy with a mysterious past, kissing, an old woman who might be a witch, lots of Manx culture and mythology, sea monsters, sisters, and kissing. Did I mention the kissing already? 😉

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

It’s a standalone (though a companion novel may follow)!

3. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

I do a lot of watercolor painting on the side. I’ve been taking lessons for over a year now, and I find it’s a relaxing creative outlet when I’m stuck with my writing! I also love to play computer/video games and tabletop games with my husband in the evenings. Some other things I love to do are: hang out with my four crazy dogs, research family genealogy, bake things, eat things I bake, and go antiquing—I collect mid-1800s dogs in English porcelain, and really old teacups!

4. Did anyone inspire you to start writing, if yes, who, or did you always knew you just had to write?

Well, I’ve got to give my dad some credit here. He gave me my first copy of The Hobbit and told me I’d love it—and when I finally read it, I realized he was right and wondered what I’d been doing with my life until then 😉 Now, I’m a huge fantasy reader, and Tolkien was one of my earliest writing influences (and remains a part of everything I do to this day!).

I also have my husband to thank for my becoming an author: he’s the one who saw my talent and pushed me to take writing seriously as a career—and most importantly, never to give up. But that’s a long story for another post!

5. Any advice/tips for newbies?

This is another topic I could ramble on about for days. But to keep things brief, what’s most important is to keep your head high and never stop believing in yourself. Always write the things you’d like to read, the things that make you happy or excited. –All that might sound pretty cliché, but you know why it’s true? Because even if you write an amazing story, there are going to be rejections. Heaps of them. Writing means dealing in the business of subjectivity, and if you dream of traditional publication, you’re going to have opinions hurled at you. Some days it’ll be a deluge. But if you’ve written the type of story you love and you have confidence in your ability, you’ll have the strength to keep trying. You’ll write more stories. And someday, you’ll get all the way to that dream offer of publication.

6. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

Most definitely! I’m always happiest when I’m writing fantasy. I won’t say too much yet, but here are a few things that feature in my recent YA epic fantasy: sisters, witches, mythical beasts, Japanese mythology, and diversity.

7. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

“Really” “Totally” and “Love”—what can I say? I’m a happy person! 🙂

8. When does your book release?

September of 2016; about a year to go!

9. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

Kit Kat bars! But I’m not too picky; if it has chocolate and no nuts (I’m allergic), I’ll probably eat it.

Author Bio marsh_DSC_6325_2015

Sarah Glenn Marsh writes young adult novels and children’s picture books. An avid fantasy reader from the day her dad handed her a copy of The Hobbit and promised it would change her life, she’s been making up words and worlds ever since. She lives in Virginia with her husband and four rescued greyhounds. When she’s not writing, she’s most often engaged in pursuits of the nerd variety, from video games to tabletop adventures and dungeon crawls. Her work is represented by Christa Heschke of McIntosh and Otis, and her debut YA historical fantasy, FEAR THE DROWNING DEEP (click the title to add it on Goodreads!), debuts from Sky Pony in September of 2016. Visit her online at http://www.sarahglennmarsh.com, and say hi to her on Twitter here.

Leave a comment <3

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.