[Review] Dark Heart Of Magic by Jennifer Estep

~ Dark Heart Of Magic by Jennifer Estep ~

(Black Blade #2)
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Date of Publication:
October 27th 2015 by Kensington
Source: NetGalley

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

Something Wicked This Way Comes…

As a thief, I stick to the shadows as much as possible. But when the head of the Sinclair Family picks me to compete in the Tournament of Blades, there’s no escaping the spotlight—or the danger.

Even though he’s my competition, Devon Sinclair thinks I have the best shot at winning what’s supposed to be a friendly contest. But when the competitors start having mysterious “accidents,” it looks like someone will do anything to win—no matter who they hurt.

As if I didn’t have enough to worry about, mobster Victor Draconi is plotting against Devon and the rest of my friends, and someone’s going around Cloudburst Falls murdering monsters. One thing’s for sure. Sometimes, humans can be more monstrous than anything else…

~ My Review ~

~ Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Dark Heart Of Magic was pure awesomeness! It had the right amount of drama, action and sweetness. I absolutely loved it and I don’t say that lightly.

I was skeptical if I could love this one more than the first book in the series, Cold Burn Of Magic. I could! Even more! CBOM pulled me into this series and Dark Heart Of Magic countinued to make me enjoy every single page.

I know, I know. This book might not be perfect. Too many repetitions. Too much description. Both of those things were present from time to time, but you know what? I don’t care! Because Dark Heart Of Magic was just way too much fun to read!

I adore Lila. She’s a kickass heroine with a knack for stealing things and sneaking around. She isn’t perfect and I love her for that. She shows weakness, but without being powerless. She is such a strong character and I could totally relate to her. Except for her love of bacon (I don’t like bacon), but I found that quite hilarious. The whole book is told from her point-of-view, which I’m totally ok with me, since Lila rocks!

Also I adore Devon. He’s just sweet and strong at the same time, without being the definition of a bad boy and I’m glad about that. I think bad boys are kind of overused at the moment.

Then I also adore… well, basically I adore every single character of this book. Even the bad ones. And yes, I will stop using the word “adore” now, it just seemed to fit my mindframe so perfectly right now.

Also I will stop gushing now, because I don’t want to shove the book in your face. Well… actually… READ IT *shoves book in your face*. And if you haven’t read Cold Burn Of Magic yet, start with that one, because sadly I don’t think you will be able to understand Dark Heart Of Magic without it.

Can I read the third book Bright Blaze Of Magic now? Because the teaser at the end was really mean and I totally crave some more Lila now.

Rating: 5 stars

>> My review for Cold Burn Of Magic can be found here <<

One thought on “[Review] Dark Heart Of Magic by Jennifer Estep

Leave a comment <3

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.